Power Up Your Breakfast with Protein!

Image

I have always been a bit of a snob about protein shakes. I had my gastric bypass 12 years ago. “Way back when…” we didn’t have to drink protein shakes. Note, I didn’t say we didn’t “need” to, I said we didn’t “have” to. As bariatric surgery has continued to evolve, so has the post surgery nutritional counseling. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m plenty far enough out to chew my protein for breakfast-eggs, yogurt, I love them both, the issue is I don’t take the time to do so. I find myself at 10:00 AM or so ready for lunch because duh, I skipped breakfast because of meetings, etc. so I decided it was time to try some shakes and see what all the noise is about. I mean after all, we have multiple offerings available in our office, why not experiment?

First, I knew I couldn’t handle any “floaters” so I had to find something to use other than just a shaker cup and I didn’t want to buy something new so I looked around my kitchen and thought surely my milk frother would work somehow. It worked perfect. Seriously, I believe this is the trick to making thick, creamy shakes. Pour your cold carb-master milk in a glass, use the frother to thicken it, then add any sugar-free syrups, then last add the protein powder a bit at a time.

Second, I didn’t think plain ol’ water mixed with powder seemed very appetizing on any level. Fortunately, our wonderful Kroger (makers of the delicious carbmaster yogurt) just came out with carbmaster vanilla milk! One serving has 60 calories, 11 grams of protein and only 3 grams of sugar-sold! The picture to the right is what carbmaster milk looks like after a few seconds of being whipped with the bonjour milk frother. Image

Third, I didn’t want that overwhelming protein “smell” You know what I’m talking about-if it smells like Purina, I’m not going to eat it or drink it! Since I’m adding 11 grams of protein with the milk, I could use half the amount of protein powder recommended.

Below are the recipes I’m loving so far! I plan to experiment even more this week so check out our program’s Facebook page as I’ll be posting additional recipes there.

The Coffee Alternative:
1 scoop Bariatric Advantage Iced Latte Protein Powder (this has a bit of a cinnamon taste)
1 cup Vanilla Carbmaster Milk
2 pumps Torani’s sugar-free brown sugar cinnamon syrup
Blend with the milk frother and you will have a rich, creamy shake with 24 grams of protein and 150 calories replaces that morning drive by to Starbucks.

The Elvis Shake:
1 scoop Bariatric Advantage Banana Protein Powder
1 cup Vanilla Carbmaster Milk
3 pumps Torani’s sugar-free peanut butter syrup
Blend with the milk frother and you will have a rich, creamy shake with 24 grams of protein and 150 calories that would be worthy of Elvis.

Sunrise on the Beach:
1 scoop Bariatric Advantage Orange Cream Protein Powder
1 cup Vanilla Carbmaster Milk
3 pumps Torani’s sugar-free coconut syrup
Blend with the milk frother and you will have a rich, creamy shake with 24 grams of protein and 150 calories that makes you want to head for the beach!

Bariatric Advantage products are available at Centennial Center for the Treatment of ObesitySugar Free Torani syrups are available online and at multiple retail outlets; vanilla carbmaster milk is available at Kroger.

Now, you can shake shake shake your booty while you shake shake shake your breakfast. How’s that for time management? Breakfast and a work-out.

BariBelle

One Comment on “Power Up Your Breakfast with Protein!

Leave a Reply

