The Year of the Snake

2013 is the Year of the Snake

2013 is the Year of the Snake

I’ve spent a lot of time today thinking about how to welcome the new year on this blog. What to write about, what to write about? A new year, a new me? Nah, I kind of like the old one. A new beginning? Nope, nothing from 2012 is officially “closed.” Motivational rah, rah, rah? I don’t think so-not exactly my style. Then it hit me-I posted this picture and the full description of those born during the year of the snake on my Facebook page a few days ago. I’ve read the description several times and while I do agree with most of it (the positive components), I don’t see eye to eye with some of the less flattering traits (doesn’t mean they’re not entirely true, it just means I don’t agree with them) So, today’s blog post is all about me! Whether it’s the focus of the year of the snake, a mid-life crisis or peri-menopause, I don’t know, but I feel compelled to make a few life commitments.

I mentioned mid-life crisis, that’s kind of funny. Since I’m 47 years old, I’m not exactly sure I have as many years left on the planet as I’ve seen whiz by already. For 2013, I’m going to concentrate on living up to the year of the snake.

“People born during the Year of the Snake are said to be endowed with wisdom and with deep philosophical understanding. They are born thinkers who excel in finding solutions to complex problems. In matters of business they can be shrewd, biding their time in making a deal only to strike like lightning and make a killing when they judge the moment is right.”

As such, I will continue to weigh the facts, think about the intended/desired result and plan accordingly after considerable contemplation.

“Even when they are at their laziest, their minds are working overtime, laying their schemes and hatching their plots for the future.”

I can definitely vouch for this being true. My mind never quits working, as a result it is very difficult to de-stress, to relax and to just “un-plug.” After 12 years of not taking a true vacation, the wonderful trip Reo and I took last month has motivated me to actually take more “vacations” as opposed to simply taking “time off” from work. We already have two vacations planned for 2013.

“They can be treacherous creatures who delight in intrigue and who wouldn’t think twice about double-crossing someone in order to save their own skins. Their calculating natures will never forgive or forget a slight.”

This is one of the descriptors I have a bit of an issue with-while true I have an elephant’s memory and never forget, I admittedly also find it difficult to forgive especially after multiple “infractions.” I give second chances. I give third chances. Fourth, fifth and sixth chances? Not so much. I sincerely hope no one ever feels I have or would double-cross them as I much prefer to work with others than to work against them. Having said that, the following may sound a little harsh; however, it is truly how I feel. When someone makes reference to “being thrown under the bus” my thoughts are maybe they shouldn’t stand in front of it with their eyes closed and their fingers in their ears. I take responsibility when I am wrong and I accept accountability for my actions. I take responsibility for leadership decisions I make and accept accountability for the decisions and actions of my staff; therefore, I expect that quality in others. In 2013, I will strive to be a more forgiving person.

“They can be lazy and self-indulgent. Their innate elegance can at times be ostentatious.”

I would never, ever describe myself as lazy. I can be and admittedly am self-indulgent. Whether it goes back to being an only child or whether it’s part of that “mid-life crisis” mentioned previously, I am of the mindset if I want it and I can afford it, why shouldn’t I have it? I grew up in that era of having a formal living room that was only used three times a year-Easter, Christmas and when the preacher came to dinner. My “formal” dining room is our dog’s room with a loveseat where I sit down and enjoy pure unadulterated puppy love every afternoon. Not only does my room get more use than my parents living room, I enjoy the company of the dogs much more than the folks that would be “formally” entertained. Growing up you saved your “good clothes” for a special occasion. What’s more special than waking up in the morning and having one more day on the planet? Going forward, everyday I will eat off the “good plates” while sitting in the “formal” dining room and wearing my “good” clothes. Why? Why not?

“A Snake can be counted on to carry a project through to the end. Their decisions are quick and firm, but they are formed by first impressions, on sympathies and feelings logically assembled in their minds — rather than by simple facts alone.” Just ask anyone I work with or volunteer with and they’ll verify this is true. I am never going to allow anything that has my name, my department’s name or my company’s name on it appear as half-done or mediocre. My preferred method of work is that all projects be completed correctly, the first time, ten minutes ago! “The Snake will fight and plod for anything they believe in and allow nothing to stand in his or her way.” I have a reputation. That reputation is that I am like a dog with a bone and “will not let it go until I have what is needed.” Correct. I relish that reputation. The patients I am blessed to work with are my priority. The staff I am allowed to lead are my priority. The volunteers I am honored to serve are my priority. “At ease in all circumstances and possessing uncommon self-discipline, the Snake achieves great heights and honors in his or her career, enjoying the well deserved respect of an admiring entourage.”  I have been very fortunate and very grateful to have previously received the Middle Tennessee Case Manager of the Year award and the national CMSA Award of Service Excellence.

“The Snake is freer with himself than he is with his money! The fatal flaw in the Snake’s character is, in fact, a tendency to exaggerate — in helping friends as with everything else. If a Snake does somebody a favor, he becomes possessive toweard them in an odd way, so that finally he is more a hindrance than a help.” 

Hmmm, I do definitely tend to over-extend myself by volunteering a lot! Am I a smotherer? Maybe, I could see that perception. I will work on giving without commitment.

“Both men and women of the sign have elegant and stylish taste in clothes; the men are sexy and always have a bit of the dandy about them, and the ladies are seductive and rave over smart accessories.”

Finally, I now know where the love of all things Coach and Kate Spade comes from! In order to truly live up to the Year of the Snake, I feel I should immediately order something from the Kate Spade online sale…

“As with real snakes, which hibernate in the cold season and come out when it’s warm, Snake people shine in the hot months. And the Snake born at midday in the heat of a tropical summer will be happier than one born in the middle of an icy night in winter.”

I was born in the middle of the day on June 26th. In general, I am a very happy person. A blessed person. A thankful person. A giving person. I hope what most would describe as a kind person.

Welcome 2013 and the Year of the Snake-this is going to be OUR year!

BariBelle

Leave a Reply

