Recipe Adaptation

I seem to not be able to follow a recipe. Not because I’m not capable of reading it. Not because I’m not open to trying new things. I think it’s because quite simply, I don’t like to be told what to do! I’m not a great cook; however, I seem to always think I can improve a recipe or make it better. I prefer to think of recipes as sounding boards from which great things (and sometimes, not so great things) are born. I have discovered a really cool Facebook and website, Six in the Suburbs. They have many neat decorating ideas and some wonderful sounding recipes. The one in the photo is my version of their Breakfast Omelet Muffins. Below is their recipe, bold print is how I changed it, the photo is my end result.

Ingredients
1 pound Italian Sausage (sweet, mild, hot variety depending on your preference) I didn’t have Italian sausage so I substituted the MorningStar veggie sausages I had with a dollop of pesto added
1 cup broccoli florets (or other veggie) I hate broccoli so of course, I substituted shredded potatoes 
8 large eggs
1/4 cup milk (or half and half depending on how you’re feeling that day) I substituted unsweetened Vanilla Almond milk
1/2 tbsp vegetable oil I used Italian herb olive oil like you would dip bread in
1/2 tsp baking powder I didn’t have any, so I substituted Bisquick
salt & pepper to taste
Freshly grated Parmesan Cheese as needed I had some leftover shredded Velveta so I threw it into the sausage/potato mixture.

ImageDirections-these I actually followed, except I used the mini muffin tins so they would be bite size, the yield was 48!
1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
2. In a large saute pan, over medium high heat, brown Italian Sausage for about 5 minutes, or until the sausage is no longer pink. Remove from heat and stir in broccoli.
3. Whisk together eggs, milk, oil and baking powder.  Season with salt and pepper.
4. Lightly spray a 12-cupcake pan with oil.Spoon out the sausage and broccoli mixture evenly into each cupcake.
5. Ladle the egg mixture over sausage and broccoli. 
6. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.
7. Bake for 15-20 minutes. 

I don’t think my version turned out bad at all. My husband and I added a little dollop of salsa on top. Now, I have breakfast for the next few days to take to work instead of going to the cafeteria and being tempted by the aroma of bacon in the air!

The moral of the story (if there really is one), is that you don’t always have to go with the flow of the recipe, you can create your own flow based on what you like or what you have on hand. Also, check out the Six in the Suburbs site, I will definitely be trying more of their recipes!

BariBelle

 

Leave a Reply

