Tall Americano with a shot of SF Cinnamon Dolce Syrup and Room, please

I just discovered this drink a couple of nights ago when our bariatric (weight loss) surgery support group wound up meeting at Starbucks. A bariatric meeting at Starbucks? I’m sure you’re thinking what I was, that is a far from ideal situation. We spend a LOT of time counseling our patients about liquid calories – basically, don’t drink them and also avoiding simple carbs (if you live on Pluto and have never been inside a Starbucks, you are surrounded by carbs screaming, “eat me, eat me”.)

Our group meets regularly on the first Monday night of the month. January 2nd, it was cold, cold, cold in middle Tennessee and there was a mixup with our meeting place which is right across the parking lot from Starbucks. Our options were go home or meet at Starbucks so we headed for the warmth. After navigating the endless maze of 13-15 year olds with frappacinos bigger than they were, we found the nice large community table free. Since it was cold, we all got something to drink. You know what? not a one of us made choices that weren’t on our program. I normally get their regular coffee with a shot of one of their SF syrups, but I learned something new Monday night. SB does not brew decaffeinated coffee after 12 noon. Call me crazy, but wouldn’t the afternoon and evening be when you want to drink decaf? Oh well, they offered a decaf Americano which is decaf espresso and water to which I added a shot of SF syrup, splenda and a splash of skim milk. For a great article on how much caffeine is too much caffeine, please check out this article by my friend and fellow OAC board member, Ted Kyle.

It's always coffee time!

We had a GREAT meeting and we had it in a calorie laden social setting. You know the type where you typically cave under peer pressure and have “just one” or “just a bite.”  We were able to practice something else we preach. Make the social setting be about the socializing, not the food. 

On that note, I’m heading to the kitchen for my second cup of fully caffeinated coffee. Want to join me?

BariBelle

2 Comments on “Tall Americano with a shot of SF Cinnamon Dolce Syrup and Room, please

  1. Can’t wait to try this drink. I must admit, I’m a Starbucks addict, but no caffeine after 3 p.m. for me or I don’t sleep.

    Just found your blog when Maria Fitzpatrick posted a link on Facebook. I’ll be back regularly. Adding you to my reader.

Leave a Reply

