Will this year bring a “whole new you?”

Happy New Year from BariBelle!

Happy New Year! I hope 2012 brings you everything you want. Have you thought about what you truly want? What would make you happy? Have you “resolved” to make it happen? How about instead of making resolutions, you determine exactly what it is you wish to achieve in 2012 and then set your goals  planning step by step how you’ll reach them.

If your wish is for a “whole new you.” Why is that? For as far back as I can remember, every year when school would let out for the summer, my mother would put me on a diet and state, “When school starts back, you’ll be a whole new person.” Whether it was meant that way or not, I always wondered what, besides a few pounds was wrong the way I was then?

Now, I’m not a psychologist, although I do know several great ones, but it does seem to me that may have had a bit of an effect on my self esteem, my personality, and my relationship with food. It’s taken me a very long time to finally realize that  what I like about me, I like and I don’t have to change for anyone. What I don’t like, well, I don’t have to change it all at once and since I’m changing it just for me I can work on those changes at my pace. I can set my own goals and I am the only one responsible for me meeting or not meeting those goals. As I work on those changes, I won’t become a whole new me, nor do I want too. Maybe I’ll just become a better version of me.

BariBelle

Leave a Reply

