What’s in a Name?

You may not believe it, but I actually did not put a lot of thought into the name BariBelle. Just like many of you, I’ve had many different “user IDs, email addresses, etc.” over the years, usually relating to some type of sports team. When I first entered the world of email (do you remember what year it was when you first sent an email?), I was “ukmomma.” I am Kentucky bred, born and raised. I’ve been a Kentucky Wildcat fan forEVER, so that seemed like a natural email choice at the time.

After the Titans came to town, I became obsessed with all those good looking guys in the tight, white pants, err, I mean the outstanding displays of fine physical prowess of professional athletes at their best. Yea, that’s it, that’s what I meant… so the natural email choice at the time was “titanschick.” My pattern tends to be whatever I’m currently really interested in finds it’s way into my email addresses.

While I was born and raised in the south and still live in the south, I’ve never thought of myself as a Southern Belle. I mean hello, SB’s are thin, rich, with a Scarlett O’Hara accent, right? Well, no and to make that assumption or any generalization about any group of people is uninformed, uneducated and just downright wrong. Pretty much like when the general assumption is that if you have obesity and especially if you have severe obesity, you must be stupid, lazy and well, just plain gross. We all know that is NOT the case and as a matter of fact, we get pretty darn tired of hearing it.

Earlier this month, I was honored to be interviewed by Erin Akey and Ben Akey on Fit Living Radio when Erin made a comment about my “soft, Southern Belle voice.” Let me tell you, I have never been described as either having a soft voice or being a Southern Belle. It was one of the sweetest compliments I’ve received. Fast forward a couple of weeks to when I finally decided to create my own personal Twitter account and was trying to figure out a cool (read KEWL), at least to me, Twitter name. I so identify myself as first and foremost a bariatric patient, also as a bariatric nurse, and a bariatric advocate that I obviously had to have Bari in the handle. But what to put with it? I remembered Erin’s comment and I thought, “Hey, that’s it! BariBelle!”

What do you think about the name?

How did you come up with your ID/email/handle/etc.?

One Comment on “What’s in a Name?

  1. Great handle! I use tazkewldude or kewltazdude – I’m a huge Taz (Looney Tunes) Fan and loved the spelling of cool as kewl. Been using that for about 14 years now. If it’s business related though I’ll usually do something with my name.

Leave a Reply

